Staff & Governors Google Translate Learn Anywhere Accessibility Settings
Font Size
Hornbeam Academy


Early years and Foundation Stage

In the EYFS the educational programs are shaped by seven areas of learning and development. The areas covered are personal and social education, communication, language and literacy, physical development, maths and computing, creative development and knowledge and understanding of the world. These are guided by the Early Years Development Matters document.

Key stage 1 -3

Students in years 1 - 9 follow a differentiated Creative Curriculum, along 3 curriculum pathways (Explorer, Horizon and Challenger), which builds on the prime and specific areas that are followed in EYFS. Children experience national curriculum subjects through an integrated and cross curricular approach.

Key stage 4-5

Our learners in years 10-13 will study ASDAN Personal Progress. This is a life skills based accreditation focusing on key skills and Personal and Social Development.

Our curriculum is bespoke, balanced and relevant to all individual students, allowing teachers to plan stimulating and challenging lessons and students to learn at their own rhythm and pace. Our school ethos is based around multidisciplinary working and all professionals input is embedded into students daily activities. Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Physical Development and Communication have a high profile within our school. We aim to make pupils time in school interesting, exciting, and challenging.